A tuition-free K-12 public school  
Grand Traverse Academy - Home

COVID-19 Response

 

"You are really on the cutting edge with multi-age classrooms. They allow kids to learn at their own pace and reflect 'real world' learning."

- A GTA Elementary Parent

Elementary
Alejandro, Bey
Bey Alejandro

Elementary 5 & 6
alejandrob@mygta.us
(231) 932-6906

Belmar, Jennifer
Jennifer Belmar

Elementary Spanish
belmarj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6949

BA, Communications:  Western Michigan University
K-12 Spanish Education:  University of West Florida
Advanced Spanish Proficiency:  La Escuela Offcial de Idiomas de Murcia (Spain)
Early Childhood Education:  Northwestern Michigan College
Montessori Training:  Alamo Montessori
BA, Dance:  Western Michigan University
Classical Ballet:  United States International University of San Diego 

Bohrer, Jocelyn
Jocelyn Bohrer

Elementary 1 & 2
bohrerj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6925

MA, Early Elementary Education:  Central Michigan University
BA, English/Elementary Education:  Grand Valley State University
Specialized Training - Michigan Literacy Progress Profile & Junior Great Books

Burrus, Briana
Briana Burrus

Elementary 1 & 2
burrusb@mygta.us
(231) 932-6946

Cherup, Amy
Amy Cherup 

Elementary 3 & 4
cherupa@mygta.us 
(231) 932-6964

BAA, Early Childhood Development:  Central Michigan University
BS, Elementary Education (Integrated Science):  Central Michigan University 

Conrad, Sandra
Sandy Conrad

Kindergarten
conrads@mygta.us
(231) 932-6931

BS, Elementary Education:  Concordia College, Valparaiso University
Graduate Studies:  Grand Valley State University
Integrated Visual Learning Training:  Excel Institute

Craker, Heather
Heather Craker

Elementary Special Education
crakerh@mygta.us
(231) 932-6015

MEd, Early Childhood Education - Special Education:  Grand Valley State University
BS, Psychology - Special Education:  Grand Valley State University 
Endorsements in Elementary Education, Special Education (Cognitive & Emotional Impairments) and Early Childhood Education

David Haberlein
David Haberlein

Elementary 5 & 6
haberleind@mygta.us

Dennis, Michelle
Michelle Dennis

Elementary 1 & 2
dennism@mygta.us
(231) 932-6966

Diephouse, Stephanie
Stephanie Diephouse

Grades K-4 Music, Elementary Band & Choir Director
diephouses@mygta.us
(231) 932-6034 

MA, Music Education:  Michigan State University
BA, Music Education:  Western Michigan University
Levels 1 & 2 Certification:  Gordon Institute for Music Learning

Floering, Glenn
Glenn Floering

Director of Bands
floeringg@mygta.us
(231) 932-6031

BA, Music Education:  Indiana University School of Music

Flores, Jackie
Jackie Flores

Elementary 1 & 2
floresj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6916

MA, Curriculum & Instruction
BA, Teaching: Northern Michigan University 

Geyer, Matt
Matt Geyer

Elementary & Junior High Physical Education
geyerm@mygta.us

Hetherington, Caroline
Caroline Hetherington

Elementary 3 & 4
hetheringtonc@mygta.us
(231) 932-6007

Holfels, Michelle
Michelle Holfels

Elementary 3 & 4 GEMS (Gifted & Exceptionally Motivated)
holfelsm@mygta.us
(231) 932-6920

BA, Elementary Education:  University of Illinois

Hopkins, Ana Maria
Ana Maria Hopkins

Elementary Spanish
hopkinsa@mygta.us
(231) 932-6949

BA, Communications & Journalism:  Universidad de La Sabana, Bogotá, Colombia (emphasis on education and oral/written broadcasting)

Horning, Michele
Michele Horning

Administrative Support
horningm@mygta.us
(231) 932-6967

Accounting:  Central Michigan University

Julie Wingfield
Julie Wingfield

Elementary 5 & 6
wingfieldj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6936

 

Key, Alicia
Alicia Key

Elementary Special Education
(231) 932-6979
keya@mygta.us

BA, Special Education & Elementary Education:  Spring Arbor University  
Learning Disabilities Endorsement

Kipke, Courtney
Courtney Kipke

Elementary 3 & 4
kipkec@mygta.us
(231) 932-6932
 
MA, Curriculum & Teaching:  Michigan State University
BS, English/Social Studies/Elementary Education:  Northern Michigan University
Certification, Choice Theory & Reality Therapy:  William Glasser Institute

Kladder, Holly
Holly Kladder

Elementary Art
kladderh@mygta.us
(231) 932-6013

BA, Art Education:  Grand Valley State University
BS, Health Science:  Grand Valley State University
K-12 Art  & Spanish Certification:  Grand Valley State University

Kline, Jodi
Jodi Kline

Elementary & Secondary Physical Education
klinej@mygta.us
(231) 932-6942

BA, Physical Education & Elementary Education:  Cornerstone University
Grace Bible College
Health Endorsement:  Calvin College

Lazar, Justin
Justin Lazar

Elementary 5 & 6
lazarj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6917
 
BA:  Central Michigan University
Professional Teaching Certification:  Marygrove College

Lazar, Michelle
Michelle Lazar

Elementary 3 & 4
lazarm@mygta.us
(231) 932-6927
 
BS, Elementary Education:  Central Michigan University
Professional Teaching Certification:  Marygrove College

Lisa Paul
Lisa Paul

Paraprofessional
paull@mygta.us

Lumsden, Erica
Erica Lumsden

Grades 5-6 Music
Secondary Choir, High School Musical Performance
lumsdene@mygta.us
(231) 932-6020 

Manick, Christopher
Christopher Manick

Elementary 3 & 4
manickc@mygta.us
(231) 932-6939

Manning, Jill
Jill Manning

Elementary 5 & 6
manningj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6924

BS, Elementary Education:  Lake Superior State University

Mondry, Samantha
Samantha Mondry

Elementary 1 & 2
mondrys@mygta.us
(231) 932-6915

BS, Elementary Education (K-5):  Oakland University  
K-5 Teaching Certification 

Mroczkowski, Cathie
Cathie Mroczkowski

Elementary 5 & 6 GEMS (Gifted & Exceptionally Motivated)
mroczkowskic@mygta.us
(231) 932-6905 

MA, Educational Technology:  Michigan State University
BA, English & Literature:  Lake Superior State University 

Myers, Andrea
Andrea Myers

Kindergarten
myersa@mygta.us

BS, Elementary Education and Exceptional Needs - Mild Intervention:  Indiana Wesleyan University 

Rogers, Courtney
Courtney Rogers

Elementary 1 & 2
rogersc@mygta.us
(231) 932-6930

Sahl, Kristin
Kristin Sahl

Kindergarten
sahlk@mygta.us
(231) 932-6929

Steed, Sherry
Sherry Steed

Administrative Support
steeds@mygta.us
(231) 932-6967

Northwestern Michigan College

Terrill, Bradley
Bradley Terrill

Kindergarten
terrillb@mygta.us
(231) 932-6968

BS, Education (Science Concentration):  Central Michigan University

Thompson, Genevieve
Genevieve Thompson

Elementary 5 & 6
thompsong@mygta.us
(231) 932-6928

BA:  Eastern Michigan University
Teaching Certification, K-6 and ZA Endorsement 

Tracy Denoyer
Tracy Denoyer

Elementary Special Education
denoyert@mygta.us
 

Truesdell, Amy
Amy Truesdell

Administrative Support
truesdella@mygta.us
(231) 932-6900

West, Maria
Maria West

Elementary 1 & 2
westm@mygta.us

MEd, Elementary Curriculum & Instruction:  Grand Valley State University
BFA, Dance Performance & Choreography:  Marymount Manhattan College

Wildner, Jennie
Jennie Wildner

Kindergarten
wildnerj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6937

MA, Education:  Graceland University
BA, Elementary Education:  Alma College
BA, Art (Spanish minor) 

Wilson, Kim
Kim Wilson

Elementary 3 & 4
wilsonk@mygta.us
(231) 932-6922

MA, Education:  Graceland University
BA:  Central Michigan University
Certification, Choice Theory:  William Glasser Institute

Windon, Sandra
Sandra Windon

Elementary 5 & 6
windons@mygta.us

(231) 932-6821

MA, Educational Leadership:  West Virginia University
BS, Elementary Education - Reading (ESL & Drama Minors):  Texas A&M East Texas   
Reading, ESL and Leadership Certifications
Training in Danielson Framework, Pathways to Literacy, Restorative Justice, National Equity Project, SIOP 

York, Kevin
Kevin York

Elementary & Secondary Physical Education
yorkk@mygta.us
(231) 932-6942

BA, Health Education/Physical Education:  Central Michigan University