A tuition-free K-12 public school  
Grand Traverse Academy - Home

 

"You are really on the cutting edge with multi-age classrooms. They allow kids to learn at their own pace and reflect 'real world' learning."

- A GTA Elementary Parent

Elementary
Adamczak, Nikki
Nikki Adamczak

Elementary 1 & 2
adamczakn@mygta.us
(231) 932-6974

BS:  Grand Valley State University

Adams, Alicia
Alicia Adams

Elementary 1 & 2
adamsa@mygta.us 
(231) 932-6923

BA, Language Arts/Elementary Education:  Grand Valley State University

Anderson, Jennifer

 Jen Anderson

Elementary 3 & 4
andersonjen@mygta.us
(231) 932-6904

BA, Language Arts:  Cornerstone University 

Aristeo, Gilberto
Gilberto Aristeo

Special Education Supervisor
aristeog@mygta.us
(231) 932-6901

MEd, Special Education - Learning Behavior Specialist I:  University of Illinois at Chicago
BA, Philosophy/Theology/Biology:  Loyola University Chicago

 

Barnes, Angela
Angela Barnes

Elementary 3 & 4
barnesa@mygta.us
(231) 932-6914

BA & MA, Business Administration:  Northwood University
BA, Elementary Education:  Rio Salado University

Belmar, Jennifer
Jennifer Belmar

Instructional Support - Spanish
belmarj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6968

K-12 Spanish Teaching Certification:  University of West Florida
B2 Advanced Spanish Proficiency Certification:  La Escuela Oficial de Idiomas de Murcia, Spain
BA, Communications and Dance:  Western Michigan University
United States International University of San Diego, Northwestern Michigan College
Specialized Training - Total Physical Response through Storytelling; Montessori Teaching 

Bohrer, Jocelyn
Jocelyn Bohrer

Elementary 1 & 2
bohrerj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6925

MA, Early Elementary Education:  Central Michigan University
BA, English/Elementary Education:  Grand Valley State University
Specialized Training - Michigan Literacy Progress Profile & Junior Great Books

Bonner, Erin
Erin Bonner

Elementary 5 & 6
bonnere@mygta.us
(231) 932-6919

BS:  Western Michigan University

Breimayer, Stacy
Stacy Breimayer

Elementary GEMS
breimayers@mygta.us
(231) 932-6018

MA, Reading & Literacy:  Central Michigan University
BS, Elementary Education:  Western Michigan University
AA, Child Development:  Grand Rapids Community College
Certification, Choice Theory & Reality Therapy:  William Glasser Institute
Certified Montessori Teacher

Cheever, Colleen
Colleen Cheever

Elementary Special Services
cheeverc@mygta.us
(231) 932-6976

MA, Early Elementary  & Special Education:  Roosevelt University
BA, Sociology:  Roosevelt University

Cherup, Amy
Amy Cherup 

Elementary 3 & 4
cherupa@mygta.us 
(231) 932-6964

BAA, Early Childhood Development:  Central Michigan University
BS, Elementary Education (Integrated Science):  Central Michigan University 

Cline, Kirsten
Kirsten Cline

Elementary Band & Secondary Musical Performance
clinek@mygta.us
(231) 932-6947

Conrad, Sandra
Sandy Conrad

Kindergarten
conrads@mygta.us
(231) 932-6931

BS, Elementary Education:  Concordia College, Valparaiso University
Graduate Studies:  Grand Valley State University
Integrated Visual Learning Training:  Excel Institute

Dancer, Nan
Nan Dancer

Elementary 5 & 6
dancern@mygta.us
(231) 932-6906
 
MA:  Louisiana State University
BA:  Central Michigan University
Technology Certification:  University of Virginia
Certificate, Reality Therapy:  William Glasser Institute

Dawkins, Mary
Mary Dawkins

Elementary 3 & 4
dawkinsm@mygta.us
(231) 932-6966

BA:  Michigan State University

Diephouse, Stephanie
Stephanie Diephouse

Elementary Music & Choir Director
diephouses@mygta.us
(231) 932-6034 

MA, Music Education:  Michigan State University
BA, Music Education:  Western Michigan University
Levels 1 & 2 Certification:  Gordon Institute for Music Learning

Dix, Amy
Amy Dix

Elementary 5 & 6
dixa@mygta.us
(231) 932-6913

MA, Teaching:  Aurora University
BA, Elementary Education:  Trinity International University 

Grant, Jamie
Jamie Grant

Elementary 1 & 2
grantj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6915 

BA:  Grand Valley State University 

Hetherington, Caroline
Caroline Hetherington

Elementary 3 & 4
hetheringtonc@mygta.us
(231) 932-6936
 
 

Holfels, Michelle
Michelle Holfels

Elementary 3 & 4
holfelsm@mygta.us
(231) 932-6920

BA, Elementary Education:  University of Illinois

Hopkins, Ana Maria
Ana Maria Hopkins

Instructional Support - Spanish
hopkinsa@mygta.us
(231) 932-6949

BA, Communications and Journalism:  Universidad de La Sabana in Bogotá, Colombia
(emphasis on education and oral/written broadcasting)

Houston, Tina
Tina Houston

Elementary 1 & 2
houstont@mygta.us
(231) 932-6908

MA, Child Development:  Central Michigan University
BA, Elementary Education:  Central Michigan University

Kessel, Sue
Sue Kessel

Elementary 1 & 2
kessels@mygta.us
(231) 932-6903

BA, Elementary Education:  University of Dayton 

Kidd, Heather
Heather Kidd

Instructional Support - Spanish
koronkah@mygta.us
(231) 932-6968

BA, Spanish:  Calvin College
Northwestern Michigan College, Cornerstone University

Classroom

Kipke, Courtney
Courtney Kipke

Elementary 3 & 4
kipkec@mygta.us
(231) 932-6932
 
MA, Curriculum & Teaching:  Michigan State University
BS, English/Social Studies/Elementary Education:  Northern Michigan University
Certification, Choice Theory & Reality Therapy:  William Glasser Institute

Kladder, Holly
Holly Kladder

Elementary Art
kladderh@mygta.us
(231) 932-6013

Kline, Jodi
Jodi Kline

Elementary & Secondary Physical Education
klinej@mygta.us
(231) 932-6942

BA, Physical Education & Elementary Education:  Cornerstone University
Grace Bible College
Health Endorsement:  Calvin College

Layne, Jennifer
Jennifer Layne

Elementary 5 & 6
laynej@mygta.us
(231) 932-6965
 
BA, Group Social Studies & Elementary Education:  Grand Valley State University 

Lazar, Justin
Justin Lazar

Elementary 5 & 6
lazarj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6917
 
BA:  Central Michigan University
Professional Teaching Certification:  Marygrove College 

Lazar, Michelle
Michelle Lazar

Elementary 3 & 4
lazarm@mygta.us
(231) 932-6927
 
BA, Elementary Education:  Central Michigan University

Loup, Sally
Sally Loup

Elementary 3 & 4
loups@mygta.us
(231) 932-6933
 
BA, Language Arts & Elementary Education:  Grand Valley State University

Manning, Jill
Jill Manning

Elementary 5 & 6
manningj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6924

BS, Elementary Education:  Lake Superior State University

Mroczkowski, Cathie
Cathie Mroczkowski

Elementary GEMS
mroczkowskic@mygta.us
(231) 932-6905 

MA, Educational Technology:  Michigan State University
BA, English & Literature:  Lake Superior State University 

Nowak, Renee
Renee Nowak

Kindergarten
nowakr@mygta.us
(231) 932-6929

BA, English & Elementary Education:  Grand Valley State University

Oster, Danielle
Danielle Oster

Elementary 1 & 2
graffd@mygta.us
(231) 932-6930

BA, Language Arts:  Grand Valley State University 

Popp, Jackie
Jackie Popp

Elementary 1 & 2
poppj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6916

MA, Curriculum & Instruction
BA, Teaching: Northern Michigan University  

Scharpenberg, Jon
Jon Scharpenberg

Elementary & Secondary Physical Education
scharpenbergj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6942

Schopieray, Sarah
Sarah Schopieray

Elementary 5 & 6
schopierays@mygta.us
(231) 932-6921

BA, Language Arts & Elementary Education:  Grand Valley State University
MA, Reading & Literacy:  Marygrove College

Terrill, Bradley
Bradley Terrill

Kindergarten
terrillb@mygta.us

BS, Education (Science Concentration):  Central Michigan University

Theisen, Katherine
Kathie Theisen

Elementary 5 & 6
theisenk@mygta.us
(231) 932-6911

BA:  University of Cincinnati
MA, Curriculum & Teaching:  Michigan State University

Vogtsberger, Erika
Erika Vogtsberger

Elementary 5 & 6
vogtsbergere@mygta.us
(231) 932-6907
 
MA:  University of Houston
Trainer Certification:  Step Up to Writing and Six Traits

Wildner, Jennie
Jennie Wildner

Kindergarten
wildnerj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6937

BA, Elementary Education:  Alma College
BA, Art (Spanish minor) 

Wilson, Kim
Kim Wilson

Elementary 3 & 4
wilsonk@mygta.us
(231) 932-6922

MA, Education:  Graceland University
BA:  Central Michigan University
Certification, Choice Theory:  William Glasser Institute  

York, Kevin
Kevin York

Elementary & Secondary Physical Education
yorkk@mygta.us
(231) 932-6942

BA, Health Education/Physical Education:  Central Michigan University