A tuition-free K-12 public school  
Grand Traverse Academy - Home

 

"Our children have excelled (at GTA) over the years; we now have one graduate who was well prepared for university-level education."

 -  A GTA Secondary Parent

Secondary
Aristeo, Gilberto
Gilberto Aristeo

Special Education Coordinator
aristeog@mygta.us
(231) 932-6901

MEd, Special Education - Learning Behavior Specialist I:  University of Illinois at Chicago
BA, Philosophy/Theology/Biology:  Loyola University Chicago

Belmar, Jennifer
Jennifer Belmar

High School Spanish
belmarj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6968

K-12 Spanish Teaching Certification:  University of West Florida
B2 Advanced Spanish Proficiency Certification:  La Escuela Oficial de Idiomas de Murcia, Spain
BA, Communications and Dance:  Western Michigan University
United States International University of San Diego, Northwestern Michigan College
Specialized Training - Total Physical Response through Storytelling; Montessori Teaching 

Borcherdt, Rachel
Rachael Borcherdt

Secondary Math
borcherdtr@mygta.us
(231) 932-6019

BS, Psychology:  Central Michigan University
Secondary Education Certificate (6-12), Mathematics & Psychology:  Eastern Michigan University 

Burns, Samantha
Samantha Burns

Secondary Social Studies
burnss@mygta.us
(231) 932-6944

BS, Secondary Education (History, Social Studies):  Central Michigan University 

Floering, Glenn
Glenn Floering

Elementary Band & Secondary Musical Performance
floeringg@mygta.us
(231) 932-6947

BA, Music Education:  Indiana University School of Music
 

Floering, Michelle
Michelle Floering

Secondary Band
floeringm@mygta.us
(231) 932-6008

BA, K-12 Music Education:  Indiana University School of Music
Counseling Psychology Coursework:  Western Michigan University

Galoci, Kris
Kris Galoci

Secondary Science
galocik@mygta.us
(231) 932-6030

MA, Educational Technology:  Michigan State University
BS, Geology/Earth Science:  Michigan Technological University

Gee, Abbi
Abbi Gee

Secondary Language Arts
geea@mygta.us
(231) 932-6037

MA, Educational Studies:  University of Michigan
BA, English:  University of Michigan

Goss, Margy
Margy Goss

Secondary Special Services
gossm@mygta.us
(231) 932-6023

MA, Speech/Communication Disorders (French Minor):  Michigan State University
Secondary Teaching and Learning Disabilities Certifications
Licensed Speech/Language Pathologist SLD/CCC
LSVT LOUD Training

Haines, Chris
Chris Haines

Secondary Science
hainesc@mygta.us
(231) 932-6028

BS, Secondary Biology Education:  Saginaw Valley State University

Hall, Collin
Collin Hall

Secondary Math
hallc@mygta.us
(231) 932-6011

BS, Secondary Education (Math):  Central Michigan University

Kline, Isaiah
Isaiah Kline 

Secondary Art
klinei@mygta.us
(231) 932-6027 

BA, Art Education:  Spring Arbor University

Kline, Jodi
Jodi Kline

Elementary & Secondary Physical Education
klinej@mygta.us
(231) 932-6942

BA, Physical Education & Elementary Education:  Cornerstone University
Grace Bible College
Health Endorsement:  Calvin College

Lhamon, Thomas
Tom Lhamon

Secondary Math
lhamont@mygta.us
(231) 932-6006

MEd, Educational Leadership: Wayne State University
BS, Math & Science Education:  Ferris State University 

McCann, Shannon
Shannon McCann

Secondary Social Studies
mccanns@mygta.us
(231) 932-6040

BS, Social Studies & History Education:  Ferris State University 

McGurn, Ian
Ian McGurn

Secondary Science
mcgurni@mygta.us
(231) 932-6902

MA, Biology Education (grades 5-12):  Western Governors University
BS, Biology:  Northern Michigan University  

Myers, Keira
Keira Myers

Secondary Language Arts
myersk@mygta.us
(231) 932-6961

MA:  Michigan State University
BA, Psychology & Sociology:  University of Michigan

Nowak, Bethany
Bethany Nowak

Secondary Special Services
nowakb@mygta.us
(231) 932-6016
 
BA, Elementary Education:  Central Michigan University 

O'Neill, Dan
Dan O'Neill

Junior High Spanish
o'neilld@mygta.us
(231) 932-6975

Masters in Education:  Aquinas College
BS:  Aquinas College , Spanish
BS:  Aquinas College, Business Administration
BS:  Aquinas College, Social Studies 
K-12 Spanish, K-5 Elementary (all subjects), 6-8 Social Studies Certification
US Peace Corps:  Peru 2015-17, Dominican Republic 2010-12, Guatemala 95-98

 

Odziana, Rachel
Rachel Odziana 

Secondary Language Arts
odzianar@mygta.us
(231) 932-6036

BS, Education:  Central Michigan University

Patrzik, Stephanie
Stephanie Patrzik

Secondary Guidance Counselor
patrziks@mygta.us
(231) 932-6024

MA, Counselor Education:  Western Michigan University
BA, Education:  Saginaw Valley State University

Polus, Kathryn
Kathryn Polus

Social Studies
polusk@mygta.us
(231) 932-6020

BS, Secondary Education/Social Studies:  Northern Michigan University
English Endorsement:  Michigan State University 
 

Purdy, Scott
Scott Purdy

Secondary Math
purdys@mygta.us
(231) 932-6926

BS, Mathematics & Biology:  Olivet College 

Rutter, Emily
Emily Rutter

Secondary Language Arts
ruttere@mygta.us
(231) 932-6026

BA, English:  Grand Valley State University

Scharpenberg, Jon
Jon Scharpenberg

Elementary & Secondary Physical Education
scharpenbergj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6942

Snyder, Kristy
Kristy Snyder 

Secondary Language Arts
snyderk@mygta.us
(231) 932-6935

BA, Language Arts:  Siena Heights University

Sposato, Lacy
Lacy Sposato

Secondary Biology
​sposatol@mygta.us
(231) 932-6956 

MA, Secondary Education:  Indiana University–Purdue University IndianapolisBA, Biology:  Cedarville University
Specialized Training:  Project Lead the Way for Medical Detectives, AVID®

Wilson, Carolyn
Carolyn Wilson

Secondary Special Services
wilsonc@mygta.us
(231) 932-6016

MA, Special Education:  University of Maryland

Worm, Dustin
Dustin Worm

Secondary Social Studies
wormd@mygta.us
(231) 932-6022

BA, Social Studies/History:  Grand Valley State University
Educational Technology Endorsement:  Southern Utah University

York, Kevin
Kevin York

Elementary & Secondary Physical Education
yorkk@mygta.us
(231) 932-6942

BA, Health Education/Physical Education:  Central Michigan University