A tuition-free K-12 public school  
Grand Traverse Academy - Home

 

"Our children have excelled (at GTA) over the years; we now have one graduate who was well prepared for university-level education."

 -  A GTA Secondary Parent

Secondary
Alderman, Marc
Marc Alderman

Secondary Science
aldermanm@mygta.us
(231) 932-6970

BS, Education:  Central Michigan University
Percussion Performance: Alma College

Aristeo, Gilberto
Gilberto Aristeo

Special Education Supervisor
aristeog@mygta.us
(231) 932-6901

MEd, Special Education - Learning Behavior Specialist I:  University of Illinois at Chicago
BA, Philosophy/Theology/Biology:  Loyola University Chicago

 

Borcherdt, Rachel
Rachael Borcherdt

Secondary Math
borcherdtr@mygta.us
(231) 932-6019

Burns, Samantha
Samantha Burns

Secondary Social Studies
burnss@mygta.us
(231) 932-6944

BS, Secondary Education (History, Social Studies):  Central Michigan University 

Cline, Kirsten
Kirsten Cline

Elementary Band & Secondary Musical Performance
clinek@mygta.us
(231) 932-6947

Diola, Tony
Tony Diola

Secondary Academic Support
diolat@mygta.us 
(231) 932-6023

MA, K-12 Administration:  Central Michigan University
BA, Elementary & Special Education, Psychology:  Grand Valley State University

Classroom

Floering, Michelle
Michelle Floering

Secondary Band
floeringm@mygta.us
(231) 932-6008

BA, K-12 Music Education:  Indiana University School of Music
Counseling Psychology Coursework:  Western Michigan University

Galoci, Kris
Kris Galoci

Secondary Science
galocik@mygta.us
(231) 932-6030

BS, Geology/Earth Science:  Michigan Technological University

Gee, Abbi
Abbi Gee

Secondary Language Arts
geea@mygta.us
(231) 932-6037

MA, Educational Studies:  University of Michigan
BA, English:  University of Michigan

Gorman, Matt
Matt Gorman

Athletic Director/Secondary Science
gormanm@mygta.us
(231) 932-6909

MS, Education:  Northwestern University
BS, Biology:  Alma College

Grote, Kristen
Kristen Grote

Secondary Science
grotek@mygta.us
(231) 932-6012

BS:  Penn State University
Americorps Science Teaching Certificate

Haines, Chris
Chris Haines

Secondary Science
hainesc@mygta.us
(231) 932-6028

BS, Secondary Biology Education:  Saginaw Valley State University

Hall, Collin
Collin Hall

Secondary Math
hallc@mygta.us
(231) 932-6011

BS, Secondary Education (Math):  Central Michigan University

Kline, Isaiah
Isaiah Kline 

Secondary Art
klinei@mygta.us
(231) 932-6027 

BA, Art Education:  Spring Arbor University

Kline, Jodi
Jodi Kline

Elementary & Secondary Physical Education
klinej@mygta.us
(231) 932-6942

BA, Physical Education & Elementary Education:  Cornerstone University
Grace Bible College
Health Endorsement:  Calvin College

McCann, Shannon
Shannon McCann

Secondary Social Studies
mccanns@mygta.us
(231) 932-6040

BS, Education (Social Studies & History):  Ferris State University 

McGurn, Ian
Ian McGurn

Secondary Science
mcgurni@mygta.us
(231) 932-6902

MA, Biology Education (grades 5-12):  Western Governors University
BS, Biology:  Northern Michigan University  

Myers, Keira
Keira Myers

Secondary Language Arts
myersk@mygta.us
(231) 932-6961

MA:  Michigan State University
BA, Psychology & Sociology:  University of Michigan

Nelson, Lorissa
Lorissa Nelson

Secondary Spanish
nelsonl@mygta.us
(231) 932-6975

MA, Secondary Education:  University of Phoenix
BA:  Brigham Young University
Spanish Studies, Estudio Sampere:  Madrid and Alicante, Spain
Certification, Choice Theory:  William Glasser Institute 
Fulbright Exchange Recipient to Argentina

Nowak, Bethany
Bethany Nowak

Secondary Special Services
nowakb@mygta.us
(231) 932-6016
 
BA, Elementary Education:  Central Michigan University 

Nowak, Christine
Christine Nowak

Secondary Special Services
nowakc@mygta.us
(231) 932-6976

BA, Elementary & Special Education:  Grand Valley State University 

Odziana, Rachel
Rachel Odziana 

Secondary Language Arts
odzianar@mygta.us
(231) 932-6036

BS, Education:  Central Michigan University

Patrzik, Stephanie
Stephanie Patrzik

Secondary Guidance Counselor
patrziks@mygta.us
(231) 932-6024

MA, Counselor Education:  Western Michigan University
BA, Education:  Saginaw Valley State University

Polus, Kathryn
Kathryn Polus

Social Studies
polusk@mygta.us
(231) 932-6020

Purdy, Scott
Scott Purdy

Secondary Math
purdys@mygta.us
(231) 932-6926

BS, Mathematics & Biology:  Olivet College 

Rutter, Emily
Emily Rutter

Secondary Language Arts
ruttere@mygta.us
(231) 932-6026

BA, English:  Grand Valley State University

Scharpenberg, Jon
Jon Scharpenberg

Elementary & Secondary Physical Education
scharpenbergj@mygta.us
(231) 932-6942

Smith, Colin
Colin Smith

Secondary Science
smithc@mygta.us
(231) 932-6912

BS, Science:  Hope College  

Snyder, Kristy
Kristy Snyder 

Secondary Language Arts
snyderk@mygta.us
(231) 932-6935

BA, Language Arts:  Siena Heights University

Sposato, Lacy
Lacy Sposato

Secondary Biology
sposatol@mygta.us
(231) 932-6956 

Stivani, Mike
Mike Stivani

Secondary Math
stivanim@mygta.us
(231) 932-6006

MA, Mathematics:  University of Idaho
BS, Mathematics Education:  Ferris State University 

Wilson, Carolyn
Carolyn Wilson

Secondary Special Services
wilsonc@mygta.us
(231) 932-6016

MA, Special Education:  University of Maryland

Worm, Dustin
Dustin Worm

Secondary Social Studies
wormd@mygta.us
(231) 932-6022

York, Kevin
Kevin York

Elementary & Secondary Physical Education
yorkk@mygta.us
(231) 932-6942

BA, Health Education/Physical Education:  Central Michigan University